+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Work of Art 6/16 Recap: Junkyard Dada

Work of Art 6/16 Recap: Junkyard Dada

Welcome back to another week of Work of Art. Last week, we got to know our contestants – artists of varying skill levels and widely different styles – and our judges, as well as Tim Gunn-style mentor, Simon de Pury. We also saw Amanda sent home for creating a portrait of fellow contestant Jamie that looked more like wallpaper than a portrait. Nao managed to offend most of the other contestants and talk back to all of the judges, setting herself up to be the snotty villainess of the season.

Nao, who is still surprised over being in the bottom 3 last week, says the other artists had better bring it this week…..and that’s almost the last time we hear from Nao for the rest of the episode. Miles, who hasn’t been sleeping well, as evidenced by the dark circles under his eyes, says this situation is causing his OCD to come back with a vengeance. Erik, aka Mr. I’m a Total Amateur, is still upset about being in the bottom 3 last week. If I was Erik, I’d be happier that my scary killer clown painting didn’t get me a one-way ticket back to doing art shows in my living room.

Back in the studio, the artists are greeted by mentor Simon and host China, who tells them that Simon will be taking them on a walk. Off they go on a little field trip, which ends at the red door of a nondescript warehouse. Simon knocks and the door raises to reveal giant piles of electronics. There are old TVs, computers, VCRs, you name it. It’s a veritable graveyard of technology. Miles OCD kicks in big-time and he starts to feel like he has to organize it all by date, size and function