+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Thunderstruck's Column - Week 1: How much is too much?

Thunderstruck's Column - Week 1: How much is too much?

This will be an opinion column, and since I plan on being a journalist I figure some practice couldn't hurt.

Lately in the sports world, much of the buzz has been about Bob Stoop's Oklahoma team running up the score in a 77-0 win aginst Texas A&M. His starters were out halfway through the 3rd quarter, including heisman candidate QB Jason White. Stoops did make the right desision, but I'm upset at the Texas A&M team giving up at halftime. If you're letting subs walk over you, granted they're at the clear-cut top program in football, but if you're letting backups who were taking it easy score 4 TD's on you, Oklahoma's not embarassing you, you're embarassing yourselves. I was fine with the 77-0 score, because I don't play for Texas A&M. But what ensued the following week was wrong.

People in the media got all over Stoops for running up the score. Had they had knowledge of the college football game, they should know he was not running up the score. What we had was a bunch of "experts" telling us what was wrong with it. My main problem with this was that A&M stopped playing. I've seen severe underdogs come out with EXTRA intensity, if anything, against an elite team like Oklahoma. It seems that they got caught up in the talk that they had no chance, and they believed it. And, OK, I'll admit it, I would've taken Oklahoma. And the backups at Oklahoma which played, if they were all transferred to a college such as Temple, they'd all start and be a top-25 team. Had the backups played the whole game, you'd have seen 30+ points put up. But A&M should NOT have given up 77 points, and they should NOT have scored 0.