+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Who Watches the Show? Plus my two cents

Who Watches the Show? Plus my two cents

Hi Everyone!

I am just curious what are the demographics of the audience for RS:INXS.
    I am a high school teacher in Central PA with a school population a little over 400 students. Of the 120 students that I see, I did a little poll to see who is watching. Less than 10 kids have heard of the show and from that number less than 5 have actually seen an episode. The only person I have to talk to about the show is another teacher in her mid-forties-I am 32.

So I am wondering, is INXS trying to regain their past success with the under 21 demographic or are they reaching back out to their original fans? Because that might have a lot to do with who they select.

If they are looking to capture a younger audience, I think their best choice would be Marty, even though he is alot older than JD, he seems to fit what is selling now. JD and Mig, while enjoyable to watch (most times) are really kind of cheesy. They both seem to be trying too hard. Marty seems the most honest performer of the remaining three. And he is extremely fascinating to watch.

However, I sincerely think winning would hurt Marty more than help him. I do not know what type of band he fronts, but I would think he would have better luck staying with them. I love "Trees" and if the rest of his music sounds like that, that is where he should stay.

At this point, I am personally rooting for Mig.

Mig seems to really enjoy the music and is so respectful and appreciative of the experience. He's also extremely good looking with a fun quality. He seems like he fits in with the guys, listens and answers from the heart. How easy would he be to tour with?!

I can't really get into JD, he seems too "slick" and insincere. Plus he always starts on a bad note and then I cannot get over that for the rest of the song. I would love to hear his "own" voice, he seems an imitator to me.