+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Claire Buitendorp - Season 16

Claire Buitendorp - Season 16

Claire Buitendorp
    Season 16 Designer

Age 27, Grand Ledge, MI
    #DesignerClaire

When did you realize you had designer potential?
    I never expected that the first person I would ever design for would be Katy Perry! That experience truly opened my eyes to the idea that I could make a living as a designer.

What is your design training?
    I have an associate’s degree in fashion technology from Lansing Community College and a bachelor’s degree of applied science with a concentration in entrepreneurial business and communication from the University of Michigan. I am especially proud that my degrees were funded entirely through academic scholarships.

Strengths as a designer?
    Strong sewing, construction skills, color usage, and embellishment.

Weaknesses as a designer?
    I feel so strongly about my point of view, and occasionally, it is challenging for me to accept constructive criticism.

How did you end up auditioning for "Project Runway"?
    The swift timelines and crazy challenges have always left me a bit uneasy and deterred me from auditioning. Yet recently, I had a realization that I was letting fear have the upper hand. “Project Runway” has always served as a tremendous platform for emerging talent and I want to share my talents with the judges, Tim, my fellow contestants, and you!

Challenge you wish they'd bring back?
    You mean the time they sent them to Europe? I would love to take on any of those challenges!

Challenge you hope they don't?
    The pet supplies challenge.

What's your take on team challenges?