+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Samantha Rei - Season 16

Samantha Rei - Season 16

Samantha Rei
    Season 16 Designer

Age 36, Minneapolis, MN
    #DesignerSamantha

When did you realize you had designer potential?
    When I was 13. Growing up I wanted to be an illustrator. After Saturday morning cartoons every weekend I would watch fashion shows. One day I thought, ďI can do that,Ē and started tracing images from my comics as my croquis templates.

What is your design training?
    My mom always sewed so I was around it all the time, but I didnít start learning for real until I kicekd everyoneís butts at home economics in middle school. That was when my mom knew I was serious about learning and she got a friendís old machine for me. I was taught by her until I moved out and then self-taught until I was 25. I went to Minneapolis Community and Technical College so I could say that I went to school. Little did I know that a two year tech program would be the most amazing time.

Strengths as a designer?
    Iím stupid fast, I love details and textures and 80 percent of my dresses have pockets. Iíve been between sizes eight and 20 as an adult, so I learned early how to dress all frames. I listen to my clients, know the tenor of a maching acting up from across the room and Iím a wiz at draping versus flat patterning.

Weaknesses as a designer?
    I feel like even though I can give good directions, sometimes itís better if I do it myself, so I can come off as controlling. I take on a few too many projects because I want to make everyone happy. Iím pretty bad at flat patterning because math is hard.

How did you end up auditioning for "Project Runway"?
    I almost didnít. I had auditioned a few times and just wasnít feeling like I should try again. But a good friend badgered me into it.

Challenge you wish they'd bring back?
    I love the unconventional challenge where they had to make something with car parts. Iíd kill a seatbelt dress!

Challenge you hope they don't?