Like Tree68Likes

Thread: Ven Budhu - Season 10

Ven Budhu - Season 10

Ven Budhu
    Season 10 Designer

Age 28, Kew Gardens, NY

List of websites featuring your work?
    Gavaskar New York

First garment you ever made? The first garment I ever made was actually not one, but a small group of seven sequins-and-satin dresses when I was a freshman in high school for the annual student fashion show. A flair for evening dresses was evident.

What's your design training/schooling? I graduated from the Fashion Institute of Technology in 2006 with a bachelor's degree in womenswear. I spent my third year of college attending Polimoda in Florence, Italy.

What have been your influences? For me it is about capturing an attitude, a feeling, an emotion, and as a result, creating a stunning visual impact.

Item you're most proud to have designed? I have a passion for designing extravagant gowns. If a celebrity wore my designs on the red carpet, I guarantee she would own it.

Favorite designer(s)? I love Roberto Cavalli for his edgy, bold, luxurious over-the-top sensibility. I also love Michael Kors for his clean, chic American sportswear.

Fashion must? Every woman should have a little red dress in her closet.