+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 30 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Jeffrey Sebelia - Season 3

Jeffrey Sebelia - Season 3

Birthday: 1970-05-30
    Hometown: Los Angeles, CA
    Education: Self-taught

“Music is in my blood, as well as art and fashion,” says Jeffrey Sebelia, 36, the founder and designer behind clothing label Cosa Nostra. At age 16, Jeff left home to live in a garage with his punk band where he fell into a life of music, art and fast times &emdash; all supported by a mild criminal habit. It was, according to Jeff, “A lifestyle of freedom, rebellion and self-expression. Working for little money and ‘trade.’”

Jeff supported himself by adorning leather and denim jackets with patches for his father’s San Bernardino County chapter of the Hell’s Angels. During this time, he lived primarily on the streets where he obtained garments from churches and the local Salvation Army. Jeff transformed ill-shaped military jackets, wool and leather blazers into celebrated masterpieces, reconstructing them to fit perfectly and covering them in patches, his design signature.

Jeffrey finally began to focus, market, and legitimize his love for art and fashion when Interscope records discovered his band, LIFTER, and signed them for six years beginning in the early nineties. Ultimately, Cosa Nostra was born. The label has a long line of celebrity clientele, including Gwen Stefani, Billy Bob Thornton, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and more. Cosa Nostra is sold exclusively at limited high-end designer stores such as Maxfield in Los Angeles, BNY in Santa Monica, Patch in St. Tropez and Harvey Nichols in London and Hong Kong.

“I’ve grown to love fashion, namely John Galliano, Comme Des Garcons, Vivienne Westwood, Ann Demeulemeester, Junya Watanabe, Rick Owens, and Yohji Yamamoto,” says Jeffrey. But it was watching his friend Santino that inspired him to try out for season three. He says, “It seemed fun and challenging.” Jeffrey currently resides in Los Angeles, California.