+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I just noticed something...

I just noticed something...

I know I'm a freak...but as I am watching the show for the 3rd time, I noticed when Bill was talking to the camera, he said "...gay..." and his eyes darted to the right. Also, Ryan was talking while he was sitting by the fence post and said the word "gay" and right after he said it, he looked away too!

Are there any psychologists in here that know anything about what a person does when they lie???

OH...here I go OVER analyzing once again!

dave
    Last edited by davewfred; 03-14-2004 at 02:13 PM.

Feels a connection w/ you charlie9's Avatar
    Well, I spent some time a criminal attorney so I have a lot of experience dealing with lying In my experience, it is true that many liars have trouble maintaining eye contact at crucial moments in their story. However, there are also some people who just get nervous and have trouble with eye contact - esp. in a stressful situation (e.g. on the stand, or on TV). Mainly I notice that people stop maintaining eye contact when they are uncomfortable or nervous. This could mean quite a number of things, including (a) they are lying about being straight, thus, saying "gay" makes them uncomfortable (b) they are nervous just talking to me (or in this case, to a camera) or (c) they are nervous even SAYING the word gay...because they are straight.

So I don't know that I would think it would really be conclusive in this situation. Just my opinion...Sorry! But, good observation!! I am sure it means SOMETHING, just not sure we can tell what.

It's all a Mystery to Me KaiCee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by davewfred
    Are there any psychologists in here that know anything about what a person does when they lie???

OH...here I go OVER analyzing once again!

dave