+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 9/2 Episode: Oops, they did it again

9/2 Episode: Oops, they did it again

Tonight we’re on to the second heat of five more extreme karaoke contestants vying to get into the finals to compete for the $200,000. Elton John, Britney Spears, Jon Bon Jovi, Cyndi Lauper, and Barbara Streisand will be performing for us tonight.

Todd Newton is dressed a little less anally this evening with a brown leather jacket and dark pants. He still has no personality, but, luckily, he doesn’t say much and goes straight to our first contestant.

Ferras

For some reason our first contestant has only one name. Ferras has been a big fan of Elton John since he was little. He remembers snuggling under woolen blankets with his mom listening to Elton John, and he has been a fan ever since. He has never taken voice lessons and tells us he just woke up one day and was able to play the piano and sing. Now being a music teacher myself, miraculous acquisition of talents overnight is not something I want to advocate to my students, so hopefully none of them are reading this.

For his performance, the stage is set with many candles, and Ferras is sitting at a white piano in the middle. He is dressed in a black and white striped suit with a pink boa. He also has on big sunglasses and a slightly wacked out wig. I do not think he looks much like Elton John, especially with an obvious gap in his front teeth. He looks just like a guy in a crazy outfit. He sings pretty well, but misses some of the notes in his high register. Throughout the whole performance I keep wondering if he is actually playing the piano. At the very end, I realize he is when he is doing a small improvisation on his ending. I found this quite impressive considering he’s an amateur and is trying to act like someone else.