+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Extreme Makeover: Home Edition (05/16) The Powells

Extreme Makeover: Home Edition (05/16) The Powells

THE "EXTREME MAKEOVER: HOME EDITION" TEAM PROVIDES THE RIGHT MEDICINE FOR A YOUNG MAN WHOSE HOUSE WAS MAKING HIM SICK, MAY 16 ON ABC

"Powell Family" - It wasn't easy for Carrie Powell to bring relief to her younger son, Keenan, who suffers from a rare cell disorder, asthma, as well as allergies. It was all made worse by the dust and living mold in their Arleta, California home. Doctors told Carrie that Keenan wouldn't live to see his first birthday. Determined to not give up hope, Carrie, a florist by trade, turned to her herb garden to help Keenan deal with his diseases. Keenan beat the odds and is now a strapping 16-year old who wears a size 15 shoe and stands at 6 feet tall. Keenan has been able to keep his health in check, but keeping the house hypo-allergenic for him has been a problem. So, the team of "Extreme Makeover: Home Edition," in an episode airing on SUNDAY, MAY 16 (8:00-9:00 p.m., ET), made a house call. Their mission was to prescribe the right antidote for Keenan by eradicating the black mold and providing a healthy, new environment for the entire family.

While the divorced Carrie learned to grow her own medicinal herbs for Keenan, she lost job after job because she had to take time off every time Keenan was admitted to the hospital. In addition to caring for Keenan and her older son, Chris, now 25, she couldn't keep up with the expenses of constantly fixing things in the house that made Keenan sick. Before Chris leaves for military duty in the Middle East, he wanted to make sure his mom and little brother would be well taken care of and the house be no longer toxic to Keenan.