+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree652Likes

Thread: Glee

Re: Glee

Quote Originally Posted by Katydyd View Post
    Loved the Coach B story line last night.....and the fact that she went back to Cooter. Not because that makes me happy, but because it's probably one of the most realistic things they've done on Glee. To have the kids sing one song and Beist fesses' up and leaves him would have done a huge disservice to the many women (and men) who are in abusive relationships. As a former social worker, I can tell you statistically it takes seven times for a woman to leave before she actually stays gone. And Beist's feelings of insecurity are all too common...even among some of the "Quinn's" out there. I hope they continue the story line. One, because it's a wothwhile one, and two because I'm all for anything that gives Dot Jones more airtime
    If they kept up with this story line and the interaction of those teachers like that I would have probably start watching with more interest again. It statistically takes 7 times for a woman to leave and don't forget all the ones that leave only because there was a catastrophic event and who would continue going back and forth and back and forth.

Quote Originally Posted by cantstopwatchin View Post
    I love Dot Jones. She had me in tears last night but I HATE how she went back. I don't know what the statistics are for women who stay in that kind of abusive relationship but I'd hoped she'd really left him.
    My mother's best friend used to work for House of Ruth and it's horrifying how many women go back to their abuser again and again. She said they'd get the women healed and safe and ready to move on with a new home and job and then they would go back to the man who abused them. Heartbreaking. IMO, it's more realistic to show Bieste going back to him. I only hope she gets out eventually and before he really does damage.