+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree752Likes

Thread: Big Bang Theory

Re: Big Bang Theory

Quote Originally Posted by Arielflies View Post
    Well, when an earthquake takes out their lab, they'll be running to the USGS - theoretically, of course.

When Sheldon was moaning and groaning at the lunch table, he talked about wanting to make science more relevant to the people on the street...nothing is more relevant than the earth moving beneath your feet.

Love the new direction of gravitational physics - all that lovely magnetism running around the world and beyond. Let's see what has magnetic properties that might push and pull gravitational forces.

Okay...I'm not a scientist of any kind - obviously - but did want to stand up for "fake" science.
    Thank you a billion times over, for your post, Ariesflies!!!
    "You have to remember, sometimes your `buddy' isn't really your `buddy' in this game." -Donny

Quote Originally Posted by anders332 View Post
    but this is Sheldon we're talking about - he believes his science is the only relevant science. We've heard him make fun of all their occupations, and even make fun of Howard's Masters from MIT, and remind him repeatedly that he's not a doctor. In his mind, this is Sheldon's world and it has nothing to do with the branch of science.

EXACTLY! -The character Sheldon could very easily be absolutely insufferable, with viewers fleeing in droves. But the writers are constantly mocking Sheldon's self- importance his statements about Howard, about geologists, about everything outside of himself, are designed to make fun of his arrogance and self-importance. Viewers get it, geologists get it. Perhaps the only people not to get the joke are other real life Sheldon's. Thank goodness Jim Parsons and the writers do such a brilliant balancing act in how Sheldon is portrayed and perceived. There's just enough vulnerability and sincere decency to keep Sheldon from being a truly unbearable blowhard.