+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree730Likes

Thread: Grey's Anatomy

PWS
    FORT Fogey

Re: Grey's Anatomy

If they each made $30,000... They obviously fired quite a few nurses and similar people. If you are firing a nurse with 7 years seniority there were probably a lot of others let go....

Quote Originally Posted by buglover;3717804;
    I realize they cut many interns but why cut them? They don't make any money do they? Are they just trying to make room for the interns who may be at the other hospital when it merges together?
    Back when I was an intern, the hourly rate was comparable to someone who slips burgers. We also didn't have our hours capped at 80 hours/week that the new crop of doctors get. I am not sure if it is any better now--you'd have to ask a newer doctor, but I would seriously doubt it. I am sure the budget cuts hit the education program and in that case, the interns would be the first on the chopping block. Hospitals tend to also cut the support staff first as well--so the floors would lose the clerks, housekeeping and maintenence get cut, etc. Nurses are definitely vulnerable--they get asked to do the work of several nurses plus the clerk they get rid of. I still remember one ER I worked, I only had one nurse. For the whole ER. This was a small hospital and eight beds available, but that is a lot to ask of one nurse.

In Grey's--if only they had taken the opportunity to cut all those interns. Lexie is the only one out of all of them who adds anything to the show.

Now we know how Merideth is going to be kept in the show but still make it so that we don't see the actress' pregnancy. Didn't they say she would have to heal for over a month? That means she'll either be laying in the bed for a month or she'll be home and we'll just see her now and again on the show.
    Yup, with donuts!!