+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Your Musical Abilities/Experience

Best Ever Pool Runner Angry Birds Champion pikachu's Avatar

Your Musical Abilities/Experience

Do you sing or play any musical instruments? Did you learn what you know in school, by taking lessons, from a neighbor/friend/family member, or were you self-taught from books are just playing around on an instrument?

Do you have any experience in the music business? Were you in a garage band? Did you play for fun or profit? Did you ever record your songs or have experience working in a music studio?

Is there an instrument you've always wanted to learn?

My family had Lowrey organs when I was little so that was the first instrument I learned to play. I went to a few lessons but I already knew the little I learned there so I got bored with it and went back to learning on my own. We had a guitar and a ukelele, too, but I never got far in using them.

Now that I don't have the organ anymore, I play the keyboard. I've never played for profit but I have played for friends and family at parties.

I've always wanted to take piano lessons and I'd like to learn the steel drum or xylophone/marimba. I think that would be very interesting!

My best friend and I in high school wanted to be singers when we grew up but along the way I realized that would never work for me because I'm too shy to sing in front of people. My voice isn't all that, anyway.

I almost forgot to mention a blind friend of mine is a piano tuner and he plays the piano and guitar. He bought a recording deck and he has me help him with it since he can't see the screen to format it himself. So I've learned something about recording tracks, editing, doing a mix-down and mastering. I'm by no means an expert and I don't think I'd like to do it for a living! I'd rather play the instruments and let someone else do the technical part.

* Thanks for the inspiration for this thread, McSquirrels! *
    Last edited by pikachu; 10-04-2014 at 09:57 PM.