+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Downloading help

Downloading help

I didn't see a thread like this.

Anyway, I'm new to the whole "downloading music off the Internet." I've downloaded some songs off Walmart, and they're in the "my music" file on my computer. I've downloaded others off itunes, and they're in the itunes file. I've managed to move some of them around, but my computer isn't recognizing all the Itunes ones and the non-itunes ones won't go in the Itunes thingy. How do I get them all in one place so I can burn a CD? Or, if I burn some from "my music," can I then add some off Itunes? Or do they HAVE to be all in one place? :help
    It's such a fine line between stupid, and clever. -- David St. Hubbins

Jeez, Lucy, I was trying to burn a CD last night and I had a similar problem. And no, I couldn't figure it out either but surely someone here can!
    Well I was born in a small town
    And I can breathe in a small town
    Gonna die in this small town
    And that's prob'ly where they'll bury me

Leo
    Premium Member
    Lucy, welcome to the wondefully infuriating world of online music downloading and Digital Rights Management.

The basic problem is that the Walmart store and iTunes both use entirely separate file formats to store the music you've bought from each one. Walmart (probably, I'm not 100% sure) uses the WMA format from Microsoft; iTunes has its own one from Apple. Naturally, since they are competing products, the players (Windows Media Player and iTunes) don't support the other's formats. Add to that DRM, which rather limits what you can do with the files.

There's no easy way to do what you want to do. You can only burn the Walmart songs in Windows Media Player and the iTunes songs in iTunes. The only way around this would be:

- Pick the store where you're going to be buying most of your downloaded music. For the benefit of this example, let's say its iTunes.