Thread: Dan Vickery

From the corner of my eye Jewelsy's Avatar

Dan Vickery

Dan Vickery

Hometown: Portland, Oregon

Education: Bachelor of Architecture from University of Oregon

Current Job: Bartender

Why I should win HGTV Design Star:
    This is what I am. Despite a full and varied portfolio, especially for a 27-year-old, I am a teacher, entertainer and friend. My design goal has always been to help people live in a space that makes them excited about life and proud to claim it as their own. There is a fundamental need as humans to have a home or habitat that is ours. Why not make that space as beautiful and full of life as possible?

Describe your design style in four words.
    Hip and contemporary history

Who is your design icon?
    My grandma. As a quilting and clothing designer, she always followed her gut to success.

What is your dream design project?
    Buying an old home, revamping and updating it myself.

Where do you get your inspiration?
    Everywhere: fashion, art, jewelry, graffiti. Beauty is everywhere.

When designing, what can't you live without?
    Fabric. My roots in my mother and grandmother's quilt shop allowed me to see the real power fabric has in its flexibility and its ability to introduce color and texture.

What are your most creative hours of the day?
    Late evening. I function just fine in the morning but at the end of the day everything has had a chance to incubate and gel in my mind and I can finally see clearly what my brain has been trying to tell me.

What do you think is the worst design trend?
    Historic preservation. While I do strongly value the past and everything we can and have learned from it, I don't see any reason for replicating the past. If it was really the best we could do, we would have kept doing it. Technology influences design as well as computers, and we should always be moving forward.

What's one thing about you that would surprise people?