+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: Parents of Special Needs Kids

Parents of Special Needs Kids

I am just wondering who else might have kids on the Autism spectrum other than me. Kids, grandkids, nieces, nephews.... etc.

Anyway, just thought I'd start a thread to see if anyone else has one of these fantastic kids. I'll post more about my son once I see if there are any other folks that want to join in the conversation

But just to start it off... my son has Aspergers, is almost 15 now, and was diagnosed around 3 1/2 years old. It's been a long and arduous journey, but he's turning out to be a great kid

Hope to hear from some FoRT'ers!
    Ask me to show you poetry in motion, and I will show you a horse.

Re: Parents of Special Needs Kids

I have three nephews who are autistic and I am a SDC teacher. I love my nephews bunches and my students certainly share a special place in my heart. Obviously, can't say much about my students but I love seeing my nephews grow up and seeing their milestones. Last time I saw them they were very excited to show off their reading skills.
    mesachick likes this.
    Whenever you see darkness, there is extraordinary opportunity for the light to burn brighter.
    -Bono

I believe that my second cousin who is 63 years old has Aspergers. To my knowledge she has never been diagnosed, which isn't surprising since I don't think this condition was well known back when she was in school. I believe it because she has every characteristic of Aspergers in a big way. I've researched it over the years and attribute most of her issues in life to it. She is already on disability for other conditions.