Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moving/rental assistance - input welcome

Living Vicariously via RT Fierce Critter's Avatar

Moving/rental assistance - input welcome

The house my husband and I have been renting since March of 2010 is pretty much being sold out from under us. The landlords are divorcing and no amount of pleading and offers to pay more rent and other things to be allowed to live here another year or two and then possibly buy the place are for naught. The husband says he "needs it sold this summer."

We're freaking out because it's not easy for us to find a rental. We don't have a ton of income, our credit is icky (the reason we want to rent another couple years is because I'm working with a debt counselor and will have our credit squeaky clean and score improved to mortgageable levels within 18 months if all goes well), and we have pets we absolutely will not give up.

We are SOL because we didn't push for a new lease in March when our first lease was up. So there's nothing we can do as far as we can see.

So we're scrambling to try to find a new rental.

I'm a little frustrated because I can't find any way to look for a rental from home besides refreshing Craigslist and two local papers' online classifieds over and over throughout the day. Rental websites like Hotpads aren't bringing anything up except for a few condo or apartment rentals (we're dead set on a single-family home).

Yesterday, My husband and I did a lot of driving around looking for signs, but kinda crapped out. We went to a few local businesses and yard sales and at every one, I opened my mouth and asked if they knew of any rentals around the area or if they know anyone who rents houses. I might have made a few connections, so that was pretty satisfying.