+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shopping SOS Please Help!

Shopping SOS Please Help!

In my real life, I am an attorney, but because of health issues I have been out of the work force for quite some time. Last time I bought clothes, I was size 18, now I am a size 12. However, while I was on hiatus, the standard of what is "semi-formal-corporate" seems to have changed a bit while I was gone.

So, I managed to find a couple of black pantsuits (Hey, they have pinstripes!). I think they will work with my wheelchair and from what I have heard from my colleagues in the field, standards may have relaxed enough that the court won't be offended by my attire. We lawyers are a wickedly fashion-forward bunch. My problem is finding something to wear underneath. I would like a plum, burgundy or mauve tank, camisole or shell.

I really like the Halogen (R) Burnout Satin Tank in Plum (don't know if I can link here) but it's at Nordstrom for $58 That's a lot for a 1/4 yard of fabric. I am taking this case pro-bono and I simply cannot afford to spend that much.

Do any of you on-line shopping gurus have any great ideas for me?
    ~Mary Esq

Brandon (21) Justin (7) (nope, not a typo)
    B needs positive thoughts and prayers for the MCAT
    J would like to have a pen pal

FORT Fogey

Re: Shopping SOS Please Help!

You are right!! $58 is a bit much for a camisole. Have you tried Macy's online, or web sites for some of the other stores that are not so outrageous as you state Nordstrom's is. Kohl's is another site to try. Hope this helps.

MRD

Target. When it's worn under a suit, no one can tell if it came from Nordstroms or Target.
    Que me amat, amet et canem meum
    (Who loves me will love my dog also)

I've always loved the tanks at Old Navy. They fit great, there's a good selection of styles and they are completely affordable.

Gap.com