+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Car Shopping Question

Car Shopping Question

Alright, here's the situation:

I've been driving the same car for the past 12+ years. I am FINALLY going to get a new (used, but new to me) car. I have had my heart set on a BMW for the past 4 years. We've been looking at them & I don't want anything else. However, one of the biggest knocks they get from consumers is about their cupholders (the biggest knock is against the i-drive, which I'm not too keen on either). Bigger cupholders was one of the biggest things I was looking forward to, believe it or not! I hate the cupholder in my current car. You can't put big drinks in it. You really can't fit anything beyond a very small drink in it.

OK, this is going to sound like a ridiculous question, but I'm going to go out on a limb and ask anyway:

would you not buy your dream car over a cupholder? I'm seriously reconsidering, as I consider it a comfort/convenience issue.
    Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.

Re: Car Shopping Question

I wouldn't drink a big drink in my dream car. So the answer for me would be no, I wouldn't let it stop me.

For what it's worth, Cadillac did a whole ad on how one important factor in a woman's decision to buy a car is the cupholder. (Thank you CNBC, for burning this ad into my brain) So it's certainly an issue that some people consider, and if you'll be spending a lot of time in the car, it might be important. If you're going to have the car for awhile, you want it to be a car that you really like. Superficial though this may sound, I spent an entire lease cursing the fact that we decided not to get the option for the back of steering wheel radio controls.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that it's okay to change your mind about a dream car-- perhaps you'll find an equally well-made car that's a better fit for you and decide to go that route. Or you can get the BMW and work around the cupholder situation.