+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Genealogical Research

MRD

Genealogical Research

Anyone done any genealogical research?

I'm just getting started and the whole thing is about to make my head swim.

I was wondering if anyone else could give me some tips, hints, websites, etc.

It would be greately appreciated.
    Que me amat, amet et canem meum
    (Who loves me will love my dog also)

Re: genealogical research

Start by finding old relatives and old family Bibles.

My oldest brother, now deceased, claimed to have traced our family tree back to a Norwegian king, a Turkish king from the 2nd or 3rd century AD, and Adam and Eve. I didn't see his research, but I suspect flaws.

It is a FACT that my family has ties to Norwegian royalty--one of my great-great (?) grandmothers was a maid in the royal household.

My father's side of the family is Mormon so I don't ever have to do any research, it's all been traced back as far as it can go The Mormons have a lot of resources and are very good at that sort of thing, so if you get stuck you could contact their genealogical library and ask for pointers. I know that there are some websites around now that help, too. I think ancestry.com and myfamily.com are a couple. Good luck! I hope you find some interesting historical bloodlines.
    One of these days I'll stop being sensitive. Until then, I'll continue to be devastated on a daily basis. Life breaks my heart.

MRD

Quote Originally Posted by Newfherder;2742527;
    Start by finding old relatives and old family Bibles.

Well that's the problem, the old relatives are dead and I have no idea what happened to the old, old family bible.

I was able to find some interesting things online and then headed down to the Confederate Museum this morning and availed myself of their research library, so was able to find out which regiments my 3 great-great-grandfather's served in and where those regiments fought.