+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 30 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Things you have never understood!

Things you have never understood!

Shameful to say but as a teacher I've never found the greater than and less than symbols easy to understand in maths. I mean < and > . I really have to THINK about them as much as the kids I'm trying to teach!

AND I have never understood all that atom, proton, electron stuff in science, even though I got a good grade in my A level science!

Anyone else got any "mental blanks"
    Act your age, not your shoe size!

Re: Things you have never understood!

With the < and >, the < looks like a squished "L". That's how I remembered it for less than.

Looks like I have the same mental blanks belfastgirl. I stunk at chemistry, Math, and science when it came to atoms, the elements chart whatever it's called.
    - The Dean Martin Show -

Petula Clark: You know they say you can't buy happiness.
    Dean Martin: No but you can pour it..

I've always looked at it as
    smaller larger>smaller looking at the point as small and the outer edges as larger

I never understood a lick of chemistry, and very little of physics. Math was better, until second-semester calculus knocked me sideways Grammar is a mystery that I've never solved--I say and write what "sounds right" to me, but it's only a guess.
    "The road that is built in hope is more pleasant to the traveler than the road built in despair, even though they both lead to the same destination."
    --Marion Zimmer Bradley

I Is Stephanie

I always get right and left confused, to the point that I say "go right" and my friends will turn left (and I only know this because they say to me "we just turned LEFT moron.") I'm not dyslexic...

And I don't get trig. Like the triangle thing. I can't figure out how to spell it. I'm like this amazing math student, but then when it comes down to it, I can NEVER manage to tell the sine from the cosine from the tangent...