+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree7289Likes

Thread: FORT Koffee Klatch

Re: FORT Koffee Klatch

Quote Originally Posted by katgib13
    When I graduated, they paused between graduates for the very purpose of picture taking and cheers. It was mentioned at the beginning of the ceremony that they would hand signal the next graduate and when that student started walking across the stage, then it was a signal to end applause and cheers.
    How large was your class?

Quote Originally Posted by livin4reality;2428601;
    Waiting to annouce the next name while the applause dies down is a great idea. Withholding the students diploma was not appropriate.
    Waiting to announce the next name while the applause dies down is a great idea?

Having sat through a high school graduation of 532 kids where excessive cheering was allowed, and a college graduation (split up by department) of 2,500 while excessive cheering was not, I can tell you that the latter went much quicker and smoother than the former.

Graduation ceremonies are painful to endure, at best. I cannot imagine how long it would take if each student's family was allowed to act outrageous and disruptive. They weren't requesting that families not clap, simply that they not make an extreme display to the point it was disruptive. These students and families were instructed beforehand and warned of the consequences. Shame on them for not abiding by the request.
    Last edited by Broadway; 06-03-2007 at 03:50 PM.

The students are still considered graduates from the school, which will be reflected on their transcripts. The physical diploma, however, is being withheld by the district.

Bill Morris, owner of Video Media Productions, is hired each year by the school to videotape the graduation ceremony.

Morris said there was no over-the-top yelling when the student's names were called and the cheers that were heard didn't last long.