+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree5849Likes

Thread: FORT Koffee Klatch

8/2/64 until forever! AZChristian's Avatar

Re: FORT Koffee Klatch

Quote Originally Posted by prhoshay View Post
    What's a good word for an "invitation" that really "isn't"? I've considered a "non-vite" and a "non-invitation". Suggestions? The circumstances are it comes in, by email, at the last minute with no details leaving no time for making arrangements, should one really want to attend. I don't think the "hint" could be any bigger!
    About 150 years ago, when I graduated from high school, we were limited as to the number of people we could invite to the ceremony. So we ordered "invitations" and "announcements." For one, you wanted the person's presence. For the other, you wanted their presents.
    prhoshay and cablejockey like this.

Signed, Sealed, Delivered prhoshay's Avatar

Forgot to add that it's not a formal gathering; it's a family gathering.....but I understand your point with the wording.
    AZChristian likes this.
    "...each affects the other, and the other affects the next, and the world is full of stories, but the stories are all one." - Mitch Albom, one helluva writer

When you throw a rock into a pack of dogs, you know which one you hit by the one that yelps!

FORT Fogey

I saw an insect on my coffee table. I googled a picture of the insect: it looks like a king termite. It's about 3/8ths of an inch long. My coffee table is made of wood. I read that the kind of termite that gets inside is different from the ones that burrow through wood in walls and tree stumps. I looked outside and I didn't see any insects by my living room window, or by the light outside my front door. I read that termites are drawn to lights. There is a lamp on my coffee table.

Quote Originally Posted by prhoshay View Post