+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree6942Likes

Thread: FORT Koffee Klatch

Re: FORT Koffee Klatch

My schools (elementary, middle, high) were always polling places when I was growing up.

The school next to my apartment complex has also been a polling place, at least for the past 13 years I've lived here.

School was in session when I was a student; school was in session this year as well -- the voting adults and school kids able to coexist and go about their business in the same place, at least in 1960s-'70s Milwaukee and present-day San Diego. Adjustments had to be made for either phys ed or theater classes (if the gym or theater/auditorium was in use.) -- but a day off from school? Pffffft!
    Last edited by Ellen; 11-11-2010 at 07:11 PM.
    "There's no crying in baseball!"
    -- Tom Hanks, A League of Their Own

The churches in our area are the polling places. They haven't used to schools here for a long time.

Signed, Sealed, Delivered prhoshay's Avatar

Firehouses are big, here, too. Of course, our churches were connected to our schools, but the polling sites were in the schools.
    "...each affects the other, and the other affects the next, and the world is full of stories, but the stories are all one." - Mitch Albom, one helluva writer

When you throw a rock into a pack of dogs, you know which one you hit by the one that yelps!

We have all sorts of polling places in my 'hood: the church hall, the elementary school, even garages at private homes -- anything with a roof and enough clear floor space for a volunteers' table and a few rickety booths.
    (Homemade cookies and leftover Hallowe'en candy are often part of the picture...)