+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree7289Likes

Thread: FORT Koffee Klatch

Re: FORT Koffee Klatch

I also work at an all male shop-- Fishing and car magazines are also very popular with the guys.
    I have found the Truth and it doesn't make sense.

MRD

Quote Originally Posted by Lil Bit;3298718;
    I worked as a welder with almost all men for 8 years. Once I got past the "initiation" stage, and they realized that I wasn't going to go running to management whenever they told an off-color joke, they all treated me really well. In fact, the ones that I worked directly with got to be very protective of me. I was the resident "mom" of the group and many of them came to me for advice about their wives and girlfriends. My guys took pretty good care of me, not letting me lift anything too heavy. Of course, I repaid them with home made cookies!

There were other women working there that didn't get along as well as I did though. They averaged about 6 to 8 women out of maybe 60 employees during the time I worked there. But we did have our own bathroom and the company held sensitivity training every year. I know there were incidents, but nothing happened to me personally.
    Wow, you worked as a welder? That is SO cool. I want a welder's jacket, don't ask me why, I just want one. The leather one with the long sleeves and the short body. I always thought it would be fun to be a sculpture that worked in metal so I could weld. My husband keeps threatening to buy a welder and I wish he would so I could try it out.