+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree5843Likes

Thread: FORT Koffee Klatch

Always Loved My Furry One Mimzy's Avatar

Re: FORT Koffee Klatch

Quote Originally Posted by Missyboxers;3226010;
    Oh, count me in the group who is so sick of this election that I cannot stand it anymore. Miraculously, the ads haven't been too bad, the people on the street trying to shill for votes have been worse. That said, it really doesn't help that one of my coworkers is obsessed, has his tv set to CNN all day (eight straight hours of that on any given day could probably make anyone insane, eight hours, five days a week, for four months and I'm climbing the ledge), and talks about it ad nauseam. Throw in the financial crisis, and some related stresses at work, and it's all combined to make me so sick of everything that I'm quite literally fleeing the country. Just for a weekend, but I need to go someplace where I won't hear all of the same stuff that I've been hearing about for two months straight (or more).
    Honey - you have it all wrong. The TV needs to go OFF the ledge!

Why is he watching TV all day and not working?

Can't you ask him to wear headphones?

MRD

I just want to add something about popular vote vs. electoral college. Even though some of you may live in states where you know your vote is not going to gain electoral college votes, the popular vote does come into play after the election. When Obama wins, the higher the popular vote, the more political clout he will enter office with. This means that the congressmen and women and the senators will have to be on their toes with their consituients for their next election if they see how much popular vote was cast in their states and districts and it will be politically expedient for them to work with the president or face the possibility of losing their own elections next time around.
    So each vote does count.
    Que me amat, amet et canem meum
    (Who loves me will love my dog also)