+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree143Likes

Thread: Gardening

Re: Gardening

You guys are impiring me to to get my herb garden going. It's been pretty warm here. I think it's safe to go ahead.

Last year, I had the best basil. I LOVED it. I used basil almost everyday. This year, I've decided to add mint, dill, and one or two more. I'm not sure which ones to go for. It looks like sage may be a good one. I've never used it fresh before.

I like mint and dill - they come back - mint will spread so be careful, and dill reseeds itself if you don't harvest it all. But basil is definitely worth getting as an annual every year. Try a few different kinds for variety. I used to have a big, huge planter I kept on a sunny deck that I planted every summer with cherry tomatoes, basil, and lettuce.
    Count your blessings!

chavy chaf chaf Asteroids Champion, Bejeweled 2 Champion, GalaGalaGa Champion, Beat The Meter Champion, BejeweledŽ 2 Action Champion, Little Protectors Champion spockwhat's Avatar

Most of my backyard is pool, perennial gardens, and patio so I'm going to give "square foot gardening" a shot this summer. I'm starting small, so it will mainly be cukes, tomatoes, peppers, and maybe some scallions or something. The location is picked, but after the storm, it's too wet to work. I can hardly wait to get started though!

I may also see if I can get a space big enough to get a zucchini plant in. I want to make a "omelette mix": chopped onions, peppers, zucchini, tomatoes and mushrooms. Chop it, freeze it in bags, and have it all winter to make delicious omelettes in the morning, quick!

Hey, about mint... I've seen it planted in pots sunk into the ground (just up to the rim) as a way to keep it from spreading through the garden.
    remember to play