+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question on Company Cars

Question on Company Cars

My husband works for a construction company where employees are paid hourly, not subcontractors. Most of the employees drive themselves, but they also have company trucks. An employee got two nickel sized dings in the truck, and was told today that he would have to pay the cost for repair, well over $1000. Is this legal? It would seem to me that being a company truck, the company takes the chance allowing employees to drive the vehicles, and any repairs should be paid for by the company or the insurance company. I was just curious and couldn't find any information on this, so thought I'd ask for opinions. Thanks!

I really don't know. Maybe it's like when it's a leasing situation? Don't you have to pay for things then?
    You know how alcohol makes people let down their prohibitions Ms Rap Supreme on VH1

I'm no expert on this, Syd, but I would think the company would be the one responsible for repairs -- it's a company-owned truck, the company has to have insurance on them, so I'd think like you, that it would be on the company's insurance to cover it. I mean, the POINT of a company car is for employees to drive it.

I'm pretty sure that in my paperwork at my own office, I signed some sort of explanation of the company's policy on company cars. Your husband's company probably has something similar -- maybe this guy could go to human resources and find a copy of it? They have to have had their policy in writing somewhere.
    It's such a fine line between stupid, and clever. -- David St. Hubbins

With my company, it's most definitely an insurance claim. I would think that would be a no-brainer for any company that has insurance on their vehicles.

Then again.... that might be the issue. What type of insurance does this company keep on their vehicles?