+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1622Likes

Thread: Talk about your troubles

Re: Talk about your troubles

Quote Originally Posted by Punkin View Post
    Like I said, I have no idea what your experience was and is, but to denigrate the loving connection most of us have with our siblings is totally unfair. You should understand that your experience is yours alone.
    I don't think this was bachelorwatcher's intent. I *think* she was just stating that it would be hard for an only child to understand that a sibling relationship can be so contentious, because they don't understand the deep ties that siblings have and may also tend to assume sibling relationships are overwhelmingly positive.

I happen to be an only child, but I have known both people who are very tight with their siblings and people who are rather indifferent to a sibling because of personality differences. I have definitely not known anyone with a relationship like the one bachelorwatcher has! I can imagine, though, that it would be extraordinarily upsetting to be stalked and harassed by a person and feel that you are stuck with no means to make the behavior stop. That is alarming whether the stalker is a sibling or not!

I did not mean to take away any legitimacy from batchelorwatcher's experience. But more than only I had questions about how this conflict came about and she/he just said they had already aired that whole grievance and did not want to reprise it. I'm only saying that one person's experience should not color an experience of siblings to someone without that experience. Most of us gain strength from those people who shared that growing up experience with us. I do not discount his/her personal experience as invalid just because I don't share it.
    ClosetRTWatcher likes this.

FORT Fogey

Quote Originally Posted by ClosetRTWatcher View Post