+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Post-Traumatic Stress Anyone?

Post-Traumatic Stress Anyone?

As I live in Manhattan, and have for a few years, there are constant studies and signs about PTS. I had been doing the whole griedf counseling thing, and was warned that other memories might come back. As I work in a hospital I was able to speak with someone working on one of the studies who said that there were no new cases of PTS after 9/11, but that it triggered the whole childhood/previous trauma bit, and I should look into it further.

My question, anyone here have PTS? What is treatment like? Did therapy work? I've been having the dreams, unwanted memories, detached etc, had a violent childhood but am a fully functional member of society by psych terms.

Just curious.

Just wanted to throw a your way, Glitter. I don't have any advice or experiences to share.
    You've gotta hustle if you want to earn a dollar. - Boston Rob

Me, too, Glitter. Have had some traumas in my lifetime, but nothing like 9/11. I can't give you any information, but can throw some love your way.
    Love The Bachelor? Catch the recap for this season's sacrificial lamb lucky guy here in Episode 1, Episode 2, Episode 3, Episode 4, Episode 5, Episode 6 and Episode 7.

What they said. I suffered terrible, panicky flashbacks in the nights after my brother died of cancer, and that was a natural death, not a horrific event like 9/11.
    I would really urge you to get counseling, because the pain and fear need some sort of healthy release. Otherwise, like PTSD, it will come out in some other unhealthy fashion.
    Most employers have an Employee Assistance Program that offers free counseling.
    "If there are no dogs in heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went." Will Rogers