+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 25 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipping

Who, why and how much do you tip?

What is your philosophy on tipping? Who do you tip or not and why? How much do you tip? What is the most/least you've ever tipped and the reason. Being a restaurant manager, I'm just curious as to everyones views on this subject.

In restaurants, it's usually 15 to 20 percent unless the wait staff has been either super attentive (25% or more) or very lax (down to nuttin'). I can understand being busy, but sometimes they just DROP off the face of the earth! It's important to me that I have something to drink with my meal, and I hate having to crunch my ice because there's nothing else in my glass!

I'm an extravagant tipper. I'll tip up to 40% sometimes, but generally give at least 33% at restaurants. If I'm at someone's station for a long time (if I'm working) and only order something small (breakfast, for example), I might tip as high as 100%.

I was a server during college, and a dancer during grad school. The people who work these jobs make their livelihood off of tips; they "depend on the kindness of strangers."

An extra two or three dollars for breakfast is really nothing, and it's fun to move someone with my generosity. I prefer giving a $5 tip to a measly $3 for, say, a $14 breakfast for two.

(This is my 500th post. Woo!)

a jumble of useless facts gracie's Avatar