+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: The FORT science outreach project

The FORT science outreach project

Hi Everyone

I got a question from AmandaG yesterday about cosmology, and answered it, sparked more questions, and then I thought: why not take the discussion public. I know not everyone is interessted in science, but as a scientist, I feel it is my duty to try.

My field of expertise is astrophysics, specifically gravity. I work mainly with computer models of black holes, but can also answer question on such exotic topics as wormholes, cosmology and time maschines. I hope other experts in some scientific field will take the opportunity to chime in.

Anyway, this is AmandaG's original question:

Quote Originally Posted by AmandaG
    So the universe is roughly 12 billion years old, yes? And distances on an astronomical scale are measured in light years, which is the distance light can travel in a year, right? Okay. So at the time of the Big Bang, energy converted into matter, and the universe was born. In that microsecond, how could the matter have been flung so far and wide? Was it traveling faster than the speed of light at the point of the universe's conception? I understand that now it has had 12 billion years to expand even farther, and I know that it's even speeding up...but that first moment is what I don't get.
    My first answer is:

Quote Originally Posted by astrogirl_2100
    This is indeed a good question. First, quoting from the mad scientist newwork http://madsci.wustl.edu/
    (lots of good questions and answers there, btw):
    ----------------