+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camera terms

Camera terms

I've been looking for a camera for a while. The places I've been to locally don't have much of a selection. I got a magazine from B&H in NYC. There is some terminology that I do not understand what they are and what it does. Could some one clarify any of this? What additional lens would you suggest? What are good features for a manual/automatic 35 mm SLR camera to have? Thanks! www.bhphotovideo.com[/url]

Infinity focus

Multipattern metering

Multi beam AF

Exposure compensation

Slow sync

Panorama mode (I thought you needed lens for this)

Fuzzy logic

Diopter correction

Macro mode
    Last edited by eldee; 07-26-2003 at 08:24 PM.

get a canon EOS 66 or higher. if you can get the best, pentax, then do so.

ill try my best to answer those i know even if im not an expert.

Multi beam AF - (AF for Autofocus) It picks a point in the center of the frame and that's what you get. means it sends out a beam to measure the distance to the subject and sets focus based on the distance it measures

Exposure compensation. - to achieve the correct exposure you desire. check out this site http://www.jafaphotography.com/achiv...t_exposure.htm

Panorama mode (I thought you needed lens for this) - some cameras already have panoramic mode.

Diopter correction - this probably has something to do with adjusting the magnification of the lense.

also check out photo.net to get more tips.
    The journey of a thousand miles begins with a broken fan belt and a leaky tire. .

You sound like somewhat of a novice, so I would recommend something like the Canon Rebel. You can shoot in auto mode and it will not only do all the work for you, but you'll get fantastic photos. You can move into the manual modes if and when you ever want to evolve into it, but it's not ever a necessity.