+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Changing Jobs

Changing Jobs

I work as an office manager. It's a good job, I enjoy the work and responsibility. But it's a family owned company and the father and son are very, very poor businessmen.

The field I work in is competitive so they have to low ball customers to get work. That's fine, ya gotta do what you gotta do. It results in paying our employees crap. Including me. (I've only been here around a year, the company I worked for before laid me off) However, the company is losing business because they don't have very good consumer relations. We do a service - customers complain - my bosses ignore the complaints - our customers let us go. My bosses don't seem to follow this system. :rolleyes

Anyhow, I've since got another job and I start in 2 weeks. I'll be paid MUCH more than I am now and I'm pretty psyched. My current boss is furious with me and it's been tense. I gave him a week's notice and said that I will be willing to come in weekends and evenings on a temporary basis. I believe this is PLENTY more than they deserve. (Hasn't always been a happy place to be and I'm the resident punching bag)

Here is where I need some advice.

A couple weeks ago, I did some work over and above my job description. I was told in appreciation of that work, I'd receive a bonus. Well, since money was tight, I didn't press it.

As I'm quitting, am I still entitled to this bonus? And how do I go about requesting it?

IMHO, Miss F, it can't hurt to ask. I mean, you're gonna leave anyway, so what is your boss gonna do...fire you? If your boss gives you slack about daring to ask for such a thing blah blah blah, maybe you can say something like, "Well, then find someone else to VOLUNTARILY come in on weekends and evenings like I said I would! Hmph!"

Seriously, though, it can't hurt to ask. However, based on your post, I wouldn't expect the boss to give it to you...