+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree538Likes

Thread: General Food Talk

Signed, Sealed, Delivered prhoshay's Avatar

Re: General Food Talk

Does anyone put oregano in their chili? If so, what do you think about the taste? I'm making chili tomorrow, and the recipe calls for 1 tsp. of oregano leaves. Nothing like an adventure, I guess, but I thought it might be prudent to ask.
    "...each affects the other, and the other affects the next, and the world is full of stories, but the stories are all one." - Mitch Albom, one helluva writer

When you throw a rock into a pack of dogs, you know which one you hit by the one that yelps!

I've never used oregano in my chili before. I do like cumin in mine, though.
    "Success is falling nine times and getting up ten." - Jon Bon Jovi

Quote Originally Posted by prhoshay View Post
    Does anyone put oregano in their chili? If so, what do you think about the taste? I'm making chili tomorrow, and the recipe calls for 1 tsp. of oregano leaves. Nothing like an adventure, I guess, but I thought it might be prudent to ask.
    I've never used oregano in my chili...but maybe they mean "Mexican Oregano"? (See The herbs of Mexico - Mexican oregano - Mexican Food.) In my mind, (regular) oregano doesn't match the flavor profile for chili, but I'd have to try it. Maybe start with 1/2 tsp first and see what you think before adding the rest?

I never thought that oregano sounded like it should go in chili, but I've seen multiple recipes that have it in it. I would think that if they wanted you to put Mexican oregano in it, it would specify that. I've never even heard of Mexican oregano.

Good idea about the half teaspoon.

angelic, this recipe calls for oregano AND cumin
    "...each affects the other, and the other affects the next, and the world is full of stories, but the stories are all one." - Mitch Albom, one helluva writer

When you throw a rock into a pack of dogs, you know which one you hit by the one that yelps!