+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree431Likes

Thread: General Food Talk

Re: General Food Talk

Thank you for your suggestions.
    Gutmutter, my default Pot Luck contribution is Devilled Eggs, so you've got me pegged. I actually make a darned good DE, with minced onions, chives, parsley & paprika & a touch of horseradish.
    My problem isn't that I'm a bad cook, or that I don't know how, it's that I hate doing it, with the fury of a thousand forest fires. I hate the time, the trouble, the mess & the cleanup. I get 0 pleasure from it & have next to no tolerance for it.

The plating idea is a good one. My problem is that where I live there's no Costco, no Whole Foods, no Trader Joe's, no deli or caterers to buy semi-home made foods. I live in an area with pretty sparse selection. My only choices are local grocery stores like Safeway's, Albertson's, Smith's, IGA, or Walmart Grocery. Even their deli departments are a little meager & basic. I'm sure I can find something decent, though.
    I also like the bakery desert idea. One thing we do have is some decent bakeries.

I've volunteered to bring beverages, & other non-cooking items in the past, but sometimes like this last one, there's really no person to contact. No contact phone # was given. Just a group invite from the organization to show up with stuff.

You're probably right that there's a lot more plating going on than I realize.
    "Is this Heaven? No, it's Iowa. --Field of Dreams--"

Best Ever Pool Runner Angry Birds Champion, Rancho Ice Racer Champion pikachu's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Gutmutter View Post
    Devilled eggs (eggs, mayo, mustard) always go fast, because face it - who is going to make that for themselves?
    I make deviled eggs for myself. You don't have to make a dozen at a time. I usually hard-boil about 4 eggs and use 2 of them to make deviled eggs to eat right then and have the other eggs the next day, either whole or made into egg salad.