+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree431Likes

Thread: General Food Talk

Re: General Food Talk

Quote Originally Posted by Gutmutter View Post
    That may be part of it. As a teacher, you can't really drink a lot of water, because you can't leave a classroom full of kids to go to the bathroom.
    I've always hated this aspect of teaching.
    "There's no crying in baseball!"
    -- Tom Hanks, A League of Their Own

I have a subscription to Martha Stewart Living and, although I rarely give the recipes a second glance, there are some really good ones this month! Among the simple ones is doing hors d'oeuvres with those mini sweet peppers that are popping up all over the place. The magazine gives three different fillings you can use. You just mix it up - it's meat, cooked rice and then spices - slice the peppers in half (removing the seeds, but not the stem) and put them in the broiler. They look SO cute!

The other idea, which I really want to try is a orange creamsicle smoothie with vanilla ice cream, orange sherbet and orange juice. To me, that's not a smoothie - it's a shake. Either way, it sounds delish! I was going to do it today (it was 107 here), but the stores I went to didn't have the orange sherbet and it was too hot to run around town looking for it. Soon....
    Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.' - Isaac Asimov

I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, "... I drank what?"

I have a question, or situation, for all you foodies out there. I need some advice or input.

I was recently invited to another Pot Luck. Everyone is requested to bring "Homemade goodies, soups, or specialties". It was a group invite, so no personal invite to be able to talk to 1 on 1. Once again I just stayed home & didn't go.
    I absolutely DREAD this.