+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tommy Hilfiger

Tommy Hilfiger

From the official site:

When Tommy Hilfiger launched his first signature menswear collection in 1984, his updated take on button-down shirts, chinos, and other time-honored classics immediately struck a chord with consumers. In less than two years, the line had netted $11 million. Today, his collections include an entire range of products to suit all the lifestyle needs of the modern consumer. The Tommy Hilfiger brand has become a symbol of the all-American spirit and continues to be regarded as one of the most recognized global lifestyle brands. Hilfiger was born the second of nine children in Elmira, a small town in upstate New York. In 1969, while still in high school, he began his retail career with $150 and 20 pairs of bell-bottom jeans. Soon after, he opened his own small chain of stores called People's Place. Self taught, he began designing the clothes that his customers wanted, but could not find.

In 1979, Hilfiger moved to New York City to pursue a career as a fashion designer. He introduced his first signature collection in 1984 and has since expanded the brand's product offerings and distribution to include menswear, womenswear, jeanswear, childrenswear, related licensed products, fragrance, and home collections.