+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 10 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: What's on your summer reading list?

What's on your summer reading list?

I don't know about the rest of you, but for me, summer equals loads and loads of reading. Since I'm a student (an English teacher in the making), my reading is usually pretty much dictated by whatever is on the course requirement list. That is why I love catching up on my non-required reading during the summer. Being a bookworm and a sucker for lists, I love compiling lists over books I plan to read. I try to make the list as varied as possible: the classics mixed with some more lighthearted stuff; non-fiction back to back with crime fiction. After visiting several bookstores - online as well as "real" ones - I'm pretty much done with my list. I thought I would share it with my fellow readers here at FORT and in doing so, hopefully inspiring you to compile similar lists. So, without further ado, I give you...

Geek the girl's summer reading list
    • I Know This Much Is True by Wally Lamb. I started reading this one a few days ago, and seeing that it's nearly 900 pages long, it should take me a while to get through it. I'm really enjoying it so far.
    • The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen. The mixed reviews it's received here at FORT, along with a friend's recommendation and the National Book Award win, made me go out and buy it. I still have high hopes for this one.
    • Snake Eyes by Rosamond Smith. Joyce Carol Oates' alter ego when she writes novels of suspense. Correction: her new pseudonym is actually Lauren Kelly, but before the name switch she wrote a bunch of well-written, creepy thrillers under this alias. I try to read everything JCO writes, even though it's virtually impossible to read all of it. Maybe when I retire in forty years or so...
    • Social Crimes by Jane Stanton Hitchcock. I picked this up based on the first sentence: "Murder was never my goal in life". Hopefully, it won't go downhill from there.