+ Reply to Thread
Page 705 of 709 FirstFirst ... 205605655695696697698699700701702703704705706707708709 LastLast
Results 7,041 to 7,050 of 7081
Like Tree247Likes

Thread: What are you reading?

Re: What are you reading?

Just finished the Art Forger by BA Shapiro. Could not put it down, start to finish. I majored in English and Art History... I was fascinated- young artists struggling to make it, celebrity and infamy, questions of what exactly creates value in art. Bad choices in men... This book had a little of everything I find interesting.

My book club enjoyed that one, Cornholio There was a lot of good material for discussion on all the points you mentioned.

I just got an e-galley of The Art Restorer by Julian Sanchez.
    Enrique Alonso travels from his new home in Manhattan to San Sebastián, Spain, to attend the reopening of the San Telmo museum, where his ex-wife, Bety, works in public relations. There he meets American Craig Bruckner, a retired art restorer studying the museum’s collection of works by Sert—a contemporary of Picasso and Dalí who worked for the most famous billionaires of his time and whose mural American Progress graces the walls of Rockefeller Center. When Bruckner is found drowned in La Concha bay, Bety suspects foul play and Enrique agrees to help her look into the man’s death. Their investigation reveals a mystery connected with Sert’s checkered past, which provides fertile ground for the new thriller Enrique is writing, and the plot develops in parallel to his research.

Enrique and Bety’s reconstruction of the artist’s clandestine activities during World War II leads them to Paris, Barcelona, and New York, and in the process forces them to face their own past. But they are not the only ones interested in Sert’s work, and it appears there is more to his paintings than meets the eye.