+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree214Likes

Thread: What are you reading?

Goddess of Looks & Books nliedel's Avatar
    For Work: Writing Articles I've been meaning to put a dent in.

To Fill the Well: The Time Travelers Wife

For Fun: Neurmar's Last Witch by: AE Rought. I read it a couple weeks ago, but her descriptions are excellent. You get a feel of the land without intrusive voice.

Im a writer, so I look for that stuff.

I read a lot of romance, that's what I write and how I make my living, so I need to know what's popular. Plus I love it. Also read a lot of Tom Clancy.

Someone commented that some romance novels cap entire words. That's all the editor, not the writer. Some houses prefer it. They are fewer and fewer now that romance authors are much better writers. The genre is very competative.
    I sling romance and makeup
    Home BlogMakeup Blog

Just started The Resort by Bentley Little after having heard good things about him on the FORT. (Texicana, come out, come out, wherever you are! ) So far, I'm liking it. Scary, funny, and fast-paced. A great in-betweener; I am still processing The Night Watch and wanted something a bit more light hearted.
    "There's more to life than books, you know, but not much more" (Morrissey)

I just started "Girl with a Pearl Earring" by Tracy Chevalier.

The movie was really great and in this instance I'm glad I didn't read the book first or I may never have graduated to see the movie at all, which would have been a shame. I had high hopes for the book but the fist paragraph is already killing it for me: "[]I did not cry as a baby. Only my mother would note the tightness along my jaw, the widening of my already wide eyes." Okay. I'm all for poetic license and all that but blatant stupidity is hard to swallow.

I'll give it a chance but I'm annoyed and when a book annoys me it usually lands across the room smack against a wall. We shall see.