+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree256Likes

Thread: What are you reading?

Right Here, Right Now Britannia's Avatar
    Went to the library yesterday to return some books, and saw "The Historian" by Elizabeth Kostova on the shelf...hurrah! Been dying to read it for a while as so many of you have recommended it and I did a little research on Vlad the Impaler online last night. Not a very nice man! I started it in my lunch hour today and have, very reluctantly, returned to work with the first 40 or so pages swimming in my mind. However, I'm on my own here at the moment and there are no phone calls or filing to do....hmmmmm....
    It's a fair cop guv - you got me bang to rights and no mistake!

I'm reading The Merchant of Venice with my high-school freshman just 'cause I vaguely recall enjoying it when I was a freshman!

Also Coraline by Neil Gaiman, whose praises have been sung right in this very thread. I have American Gods on my shelf but for some strange reason I'm a bit intimidated by it. Thought I'd cut my teeth on something else by him.

Quote Originally Posted by vondl0 View Post
    I'm reading The Merchant of Venice with my high-school freshman just 'cause I vaguely recall enjoying it when I was a freshman!
    That's my favorite play to Shakespeare's to read, vondl0. I just get lost (in a good way) in the language. I've never seen a good stage production of it and, disappointingly, the film that came out a year or so ago, wasn't what I hoped. It's wonderful that you're taking such an active role by reading the play as well!
    Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.' - Isaac Asimov

I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, "... I drank what?"

Quote Originally Posted by Critical View Post