+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Geek's Boy Scout Defends His Honor

FORT Fogey

Geek's Boy Scout Defends His Honor

http://entertainment.iwon.com/celebg...06_2005_2.html

Geek's Boy Scout Defends His Honor
    by Sabrina Rojas Weiss

TVGuide.com: How do you feel about the show's "beauty" and "geek" labels?
    Scarlet Garcia: It was interesting to find out that's where I am being placed by society. I was actually shocked at the very beginning when we were told what was going on. I never thought I'd be stereotyped as that. I never considered myself to be very smart, but I got good grades. I graduated with a business degree and had a 3.4 [grade point average]. My whole life I've been trying for people not to just judge me by my looks. It was like, "Ow!"
    Shawn Bakken: I think a lot of us [guys] described ourselves [as geeks]. Like they said on the show, none of us had ever gotten a free lunch because we were really hot or anything. It's something you get used to after a while.

TVGuide.com: So, what happened on the trail in the camping challenge?
    Shawn: I wish I could tell you! I can remember up to the point where I was throwing up and the camera guy took five pictures of me. I could count them.

TVGuide.com: Has that ever happened to you before?
    Shawn: Nope. That was a new experience, and not a particularly enjoyable one.

TVGuide.com: Scarlet, why were you so mad at Shawn?