+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Is Adam's Mother to blame for his choice?

Is Adam's Mother to blame for his choice?

Hi, newbie here! I wanted to ask if anyone thought what I thought? When Adam's mother got all sentimental and cried at the thought of losing Adam to another woman (which was quite touching), did you notice how "rattled" Adam became. He even said she never did that before--"cried like that". Maybe it shocked Adam into realizing how **if he chose a serious relationship**, a "marrying type girl", "MOM and DAD approved (to tears) girl", it was FOR REAL. Maybe his mom scared him into going into a non-commital type--hence, Samantha (the pooch-dressing, Demi Moore Wannabe, Material Maybelline Girl)? Ya know, boys don't wanna make their mom's cry? What do you think? SingleGal

No question about it. Mom scared the hell out of him.

I mean, what was all that crap he was saying to Rachel about *passion*? Let's see how passionate he feels about Samantha after a year of carrying her dog around in a quilted pink satin bag and trailing behind her while she shops. Puh-leeze.
    All my life, I have felt destiny tugging at my sleeve.~ Thursday Next
    I don't want to "go with the flow". The flow just washes you down the drain. I want to fight the flow.- Henry Rollins
    All this spiritual talk is great and everything...but at the end of the day, there's nothing like a pair of skinny jeans. - Jillian Michaels

I think he picked Samantha because, despite his proclamations otherwise, he was not in this to find the girl to marry. He was in this looking to find a girl to date. I never saw sparks with Rachel, and thought that the comments from the family that she would take care of him actually pushed him away from her. He wasn't looking for someone to take care of him.