+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question on forum policies....

Question on forum policies....

I have a question, and I'm sure there is an answer for it, however it eludes me.

Why in the general discussion forum area are so many threads lumped together into one major long thread?
    As an example:
    I was in the middle of reading a crock pot thread, it was 13 pages long.
    All of a sudden it was merged into the recipe thread which then created that thread into 40 pages. Now for a member that is trying to find crockpot recipes, doesn't this make it very difficult for the member to find those recipes, when they have to muddle thru 40 pages to find a few interesting ones? Do all your members here have time to read 40 pages like that?

This isn't a complaint, I am an administrator of another vbulletin forum (non reality tv related), and also any other vbulletin forum I have ever visited, has never lumped threads together so much as I see happening in this forum.

What is the benefit in doing this? Do you not find that it makes it harder for your readers to read such long tedious drawnout threads when maybe they only want to read about a certain specific topic?
    Just curious, and thanks for your time.
    Last edited by ProbablyBaby; 01-21-2005 at 08:15 PM.

The threads were merged because it's the easiest way to keep threads that are very similar from completely overtaking the entire front page of the General Discussion forum. While the cooking threads are a great addition to the site, and people seem to be getting a lot out of them, having multiple threads on the same general topic was redundant. If GD were, say, a cooking forum, then it would make sense to have it broken down into seperate areas for crockpots and baking and any other category you can imagine. However, since that isn't the case, this is the most efficient way of allowing discussion of a topic without having that topic outshadow anything else people wish to discuss.