We've turned on the "message read receipt" function.
When you go into your PM box, the top section is a list of receipts for PM's you've sent. You can't open them or anything, and you may think they are your actual PM's. They're not.
Scroll down, and you'll see your PM's under that listing.
You can clear out those receipts by checking them and clicking on "Delete Selected" underneath the list.