+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 2 hour premiere on 07/28

2 hour premiere on 07/28

FIVE AMISH YOUNG ADULTS ON THEIR TRADITIONAL JOURNEY OF DISCOVERY MEET THEIR NEW ROOMMATES AND BEGIN TO EXPLORE
    LOS ANGELES, ON THE SERIES PREMIERE OF "AMISH IN THE CITY,"
    A NEW REALITY SERIES, WEDNESDAY, JULY 28 (8:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT) ON UPN

"This is My Very First Time on an Escalator" -- Five Amish young adults, who have left their spiritually devout, rural communities to experience cosmopolitan life during their traditional journey of discovery, known as rumspringa, arrive in Los Angeles to meet their six diverse, big city roommates, settle into their new ultra-modern Hollywood Hills home and begin to explore the delights and challenges of modern life, on AMISH IN THE CITY, a new reality series, which premieres with a special two-hour episode, Wednesday, July 28 (8:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT) on UPN.

In the premiere, the Amish begin to experience unfamiliar technologies, including escalators and airplanes, and new foods, including sushi and avocados. Together, all of the roommates visit scenic Los Angeles destinations, including an emotional first-time visit to the ocean for some of the Amish and a spectacular rooftop view of the downtown skyline.

AMISH IN THE CITY will regularly air on Wednesday (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT).

AMISH IN THE CITY chronicles how relationships develop and viewpoints collide in a house shared by young people from very different cultures, while also introducing viewers to the intensely personal Amish coming-of-age experience, called rumspringa (a Pennsylvania Dutch word loosely translated as "running wild"). During this religious rite of passage, young Amish men and women are allowed to leave their homes to explore the outside world until they decide whether or not they want to join the Amish church and be welcomed back into their families or stay in the outside world.