+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Ideas on promoting TAR5?

FORT Regular

Ideas on promoting TAR5?

Now that CBS has given TAR5 the green light to air in 2004, I'd thought it be kind of nice for us to come up with ways to help promote the show. Certainly, I want the show's ratings to improve dramatically. It seems to me the ratings from previous seasons aren't so great because not enough people know about the show, or they don't know it well enough.

I'm currently an undergrad student at a major university, and at one point, I asked a selected number of people I knew (e.g. classmates, friends, profs) if they watched the show. Of all the people I asked, one person, and only that ONE person, watched the show on a regular basis. Not happy with the results, I'd like to share some of the common responses of non-TAR viewers:

1.) I've never heard of this show.
    2.) I've heard about it, but I never watched it.
    3.) I only watch what I already like watching. (Some of these people, for example, would only watch TV when say, Friends or CSI, comes on).
    4.) I watched TAR in the beginning, but I stopped watching it because I wasn't into the contestants as much. (One person thought some of the TAR4 contestants lacked character or weren't interesting enough).
    5.) I'm not into reality shows.

So going back into the question, I think it's particularly important to target those who fall under responses #1 and #2. I thought about getting CBS to put up ads in high-traffic places. These could include bus stops, billboards alongside freeways, newspaper stands (especially those on college campuses where students get free school newspaper), and airport terminals. How about placing more ads in the major newspapers or magazines? I think not only should we thank CBS for giving TAR a renewal, but we should give them suggestions for promoting the show. What do you guys think of that?